Jump menu

Main content |  back to top

Shell Cup 2007

Government College Kano lifts Shell Cup 2007

Shell Cup 2007, the annual football competition for secondary schools in Nigeria came to a thrilling finish with Government College, Kano lifting the coveted trophy. Asegun Comprehensive High School, Ibadan took the second position while Ado Grammar School, Ado-Ekiti placed third. The fourth position went to Katsina College, Katsina.

The final of Shell Cup 2007 was held in the federal capital of Abuja, the first time the 9-year competition will be decided at the lush green field of the brand new national stadium in the city. SPDC MD/SCiN Country Chair Basil Omiyi, accompanied by External Affairs Director Diezani Alison-Madueke welcomed dignitaries at the final, including Education Minister Oby Ezekwesili who was special guest of honour. She took the kick off at the final match.

Speaking, Basil said SPDC would continue to sponsor the competition to demonstrate its belief that “sports and education may go hand in hand.” The final match itself ended 1-1 and in the ensuing penalty kicks, the Kano boys scored four while their Ibadan counterparts netted three. The champions went home with a total prize of N2.1m, the other three schools shared financial prizes totalling N2m. SPDC, operator of the NNPC/Shell/EPNL/Agip Join Venture commenced Shell Cup in 1998 to provide a good ground for young footballers to play the game while still studying in schools. All secondary schools in Nigeria are eligible to contest and it is the only competition that provides an avenue for young and aspiring footballers at that level in the football-loving West African country. Shell Cup 2007 kicked off October 11, 2006 with over 3,000 secondary schools and over 60,000 young footballers.